Stuck in a rut

As my third year teaching draws to a close, there are many things that I think I do well. There are also many things I think I could improve upon. The biggest of these is that I seem to be stuck in a teaching rut. I have such big ideas, and so many wild thoughts running around in my head, yet I keep doing the same basic activities week in and week out. They’re moderately effective, but I know that I could do so much better and oh boy do I want to.

Partly, I think I’m worried that if I try some of these things they won’t work out as well as I hope, and I’ll have wasted a day of instructional time. It has happened to me in the past, after all. I’m in a balance now where my students are performing at a pretty mediocre level with which I am daily disappointed. But what if I try some crazy new thing and then it gets worse? I need to build up the confidence to take a leap.

Additionally, there are so many things to try that I don’t even know where to begin. I’m doing all this reading online and it generates as many questions as it offers ideas. My head is spinning. I don’t want to try something new and just fly by the seat of my pants. I want to be ready.

So that’s why we’re here. I need a space to ask myself questions and work out the answersAnd maybe someone will come along and have some good advice, too. There are so many Spanish teachers’ blogs who seem to have it all together. They do interesting and awesome things, like, every day and it’s intimidating, but I so want to be one of those teachers. There are so many great resources out there that I don’t know what to do first. This is where I’ll come to work out the answers to all those big questions. And rant. And vent. And, hopefully, put down some success stories. Because if I try to keep this all in my own head much longer, I’m going to burst.

This is the beginning of my journey. I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

