It’s summer!

Today is the first official day of summer break, so of course I can’t stop thinking about everything I want to accomplish in order to implement big changes in the fall. Who knows whether this burst of motivation will last into July, so in order to help that happen, here’s my to-do list of goals for this summer:

  • Do some (Spanish) reading to find a book or two to read with my 4th year students this fall (and who knows, maybe I’ll find something perfect for Spanish III as well!)
  • Compile all the notes I’ve written and ideas I’ve gathered into one single, convenient location and organize them! I’m thinking either this blog or Google Drive.
  • Keep reading what other teachers are doing! I’ve gotten so many great ideas in the last few weeks from Musicuentos and El mundo de Birch, and I know I’m just scratching the surface!
  • Update syllabi/welcome letters and other first week documents to reflect the changes I want to make.
  • Locate and bookmark lots of great sites for authentic materials. News websites, etc.
  • Create a Twitter account and generate a great Latin American and Spanish feed for use in my classroom.
  • Do lots of reading and planning about how to best go textbook free next year. I really think this is best, but I’m extremely nervous about it. But that’s a whole separate post.
  • Keep making and tweaking plans for the first couple of weeks back to school, especially in Spanish II, III, and IV. How do I get started without a textbook once “review time” is over!?

It’s a lot! And there are so many things I want to try or change that I know I’m in danger of getting overwhelmed. I also know that if I can make this work, it’ll be much better for my students than what I’ve done for the last three years. So! I definitely need to make the most of this summer so that I can feel as ready and confident as possible on August 20th!

Leave a Reply

