Reflective Teaching Day 25: Ideal Student Collaboration

The ideal collaboration between students- what would it look like?

In an ideal world (and I’m talking truly perfect, here) this is what I would see:

Students asking and answering questions and helping each other. They do this well enough already, but the really important thing for me would be: they would do it without using English.

That’s it. That’s all I ask.

I’ve been moderately successful in motivating some of my classes to do this, but some of them still rely on English too much. At first it was my Spanish 2 classes, but since we’ve had a few heart-to-heart and very honest discussions on the topic, I’ve been noticing them using Spanish much more. Not 100% of the time, but I’m happy with them all the same.

Over the last few days I’ve been noticing my Spanish 3 students relying more on English. Even more than in the first few weeks of school, it seems. I know part of this is because I’ve severely limited their access to Spanish/English dictionaries, but I’m going to have to come up with a creative way to keep them in Spanish. Maybe I’ll just ignore them when they speak English and prompt other students to do the same…

Leave a Reply

