Stress…

I haven’t been blogging much lately! When the Reflective Teacher challenge ended, I told myself I’d continue to blog every day as an opportunity to share successes and failures, and to simply reflect on each day of teaching.

Ha!

Let me tell you a little about my day:
5:45 – Alarm. And a promise to myself that I will go to bed earlier tonight.
~6:40 – Leave my house.
~6:50 – Arrive at school. Work on getting ready for Spanish 1 and 2, the classes I have before my planning period.
7:50 – School day starts. At this point, it’s basically business as usual, because I’m usually pretty well prepared for Spanish 1 and 2 by this time.
11:23 – Lunch.
12:00 – My planning period. Usually, I use this time to get ready for Spanish 3 and 4 in the afternoon. If I have any time left over, I work on my proficiency wall, which has now been a work in progress for about 4 weeks. I am slowly getting there.
12:54 – My last 2 classes for the afternoon start.
2:40 – The school day ends. Around 3 o’clock, teachers go home. Except for me.
3-6 – Tutoring at the middle school. For something that I volunteered to do, and for which I get paid pretty good money, I complain about this an awful lot. But the truth is, we have between 30 and 50 kids every night, and sometimes as many as 7 tutors, 4 of whom usually have to leave early. Last year, we had fewer kids every day, and I was often able to use this time to A) help the middle schoolers with their homework and B) get some stuff done for my classes. This is not really the case this year.
6:00 – I get to go home. Thank the Lord for my wonderful husband who, since he’s in school full time right now, gets home earlier than I do and usually picks up the house and makes dinner. I don’t know what I would do without him. Probably go crazy.

Additionally, I’m the junior class advisor this year, so I’m also trying to plan fund raisers and prom for this spring.

I know there are people that do all of this and have kids and all sorts of other things. I don’t know how these people do it. I am in awe.

So, by the time this 11 hour day is over, and I’ve eaten dinner, I have very little energy left to plan for tomorrow. Last night, it was dinner and then, literally, getting ready for Spanish 1 (just Spanish 1) until I went to bed.

To say the least, I’m worn out. I’m stressed. And while I feel like I’m doing pretty well with Spanish 1, I also feel like 2-4 are kind of getting the short end of the stick, for several reasons:

  1. I’m definitely putting more work into Spanish 1. Not that I think the others aren’t important, I just don’t have the time or energy to put quite as much into the other classes.
  2. The thought has occurred to me that, perhaps I took on too much this year. Maybe I should have just dragged 2-4 along the way I’ve always done, and only tried this “proficiency based” thing with 1s. I actually had a Spanish 3 student tell me yesterday (in broken, slow Spanish that reminded me exactly why I made all these changes) that she misses the way Spanish was last year. I really do think I’m doing the right thing, in all my classes, but it’s hard, and they’re still not convinced.

So, all that to say…I haven’t had much time for blogging recently. And I haven’t been on Twitter much lately. I’ve missed 2 #langchats in a row, and I was barely present for the one before that. I miss it, but I’m so tired by 8 PM on Thursday that I can hardly keep my eyes open to watch the words scroll. But I am trying to make more time. Hopefully you’ll be hearing more from me in the next few weeks than you have for the last 8 days.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    That is definitely a rough day–especially with those 3 hours of tutoring! Could you just do every other day or something? I’d be worried about burning out!

    Also, you made me feel a little better, because though my day is stressful and I have 5 different Spanish classes to prepare for, at least I don’t have that extra tutoring time!

    Good luck–hope you can keep your sanity. I’m a new reader/follower (but probably won’t comment too often! 🙂 ).

    1. Melanie says:

      Welcome to my blog, I hope you find something useful! The tutoring is tough, I won’t lie, but the extra money allows my husband to be a full time student. I’m just counting the days until he has his degree! I don’t envy you five preps hough, even without tutoring!

Leave a Reply

