Reflective Teacher Day 2

I’m trying to catch up, so it’s a 2-post day. I’ll tackle days 3 and 4 tomorrow.

Day 2: What is one small delight in the day that you always look forward to?

Lunch time! I happen to have a lunch period filled with excellent teachers. This is a great time of day for me to recharge and relax a little before the afternoon classes kick off. We laugh, we joke, we share ideas and problems, we talk about students and events and TV shows and sports. We call ourselves the “Big Bang Lunch” (sometimes they change it to the “nerd lunch”) for a couple of reasons: 1) everyone follows the Big Bang Theory almost religiously. I didn’t watch the show until I started working here, and then only so that I would have something to add to the conversation at lunch. 2) 6 of the roughly 9 teachers I eat with are either math or science teachers. There are lots of conversations about math and science. Of course, they pick on the lone humanities teacher in there, but that’s ok, I can pretty much hold my own in most math/science conversations. Or if nothing else, I learn a lot in there!

There are lots of great points in my day, but lunch is definitely that one thing that I look forward to every day. Good people and good conversation are just what I need in the middle of the day.

Leave a Reply

