Reflective Teacher Day 3

Still playing catch-up! After today I should be all set!

Day 3: What are you most proud of to date in your teaching career?

This is a hard question! On the one hand, I feel like every day I have something to be proud of just for planning lessons, grading tests, and engaging kids. On the other hand, have I really done anything all that awesome ever? I’ve had some really excellent lessons that I’m very proud of, but it seems like I should be most proud of something bigger than a single lesson.

I guess I’m most proud of my new curriculum this year. As if I haven’t mentioned that enough in these reflective teacher posts, but that’s really where my teaching life is right now. I worked really hard all summer to get a whole new curriculum ready from Spanish 1 all the way through Spanish 4. And since the school year started, I’ve been working really hard to keep it moving, keep it interesting, and keep it educational. I can tell my students are learning. Certainly there are days when I feel like I’m floundering and I wonder if I’m doing the right thing, but ultimately, I know it’s right.

I still have lots of questions about this whole comprehensible input for foreign languages thing, but I’m learning. And I’m continually improving. I am no longer “stuck in a rut” as I was last spring when I started this blog. I’m proud of myself for having the courage to make this big change, and for not giving up when it got difficult and when it stayed difficult. I’m proud of myself for being able to admit when I was working too hard and that it’s okay if not every lesson is perfect.

The thing I’m most proud of up to now who I am now as a teacher, and who I am becoming.

Leave a Reply

