Finals Choices

on

One of my more popular posts so far has been the idea that I shared about giving students choice in their midterms. Since that was a hit, I thought I’d share with you what I’m doing for finals this year. For Spanish 1-3 it’s very similar to midterms. Here are the Google Drive folders, if you want to steal any activities or ideas out of them:
Spanish 1; Spanish 2; Spanish 3

Like I told my students, I’m not as creative in May as I am in November, so there aren’t quite as many activities on these lists as there were at midterms. There is at least one item per category (Listening, Reading, Writing, Speaking, and Conversation) at each point level (10, 20, 40, 50).

And again, the higher the level, the more authentic the resources. For Spanish 1, I found myself creating more than I would have liked, but I’m really pleased with some of the resources I was able to offer to Spanish 2 and 3.

For Spanish 4 I did something a little different this time around. Since they don’t get an extra long exam period (my non-seniors get 3 continuous periods of worktime), but are assigned three “exam days” by the school, I decided to go a different direction. Here is what I gave them. This year in both Spanish 3 and 4 I had intended to include a unit I called “Nuestro mundo” and intended to cover a bit about technology and conservation issues. However, snow days got in the way and I had to shorten it quite a bit. I took several of the activities I had planned to use for that unit and made them resources for Spanish 4’s final.

We finished their final today, and I haven’t looked at their speaking or writing yet, but their conversations were pretty good. Since there are only 4 students in that class, we did one group conversation with the understanding that it would be one conversation and not four individual conversations going on at the same time. I asked them some questions about what our responsibility is as humans to take care of the earth. I had backup questions prepared to keep the conversation going, but opinions were split, so we had some pretty good discussion. I didn’t realize this would be a topic about which my students would get heated, but a couple of them were definitely very invested in this conversation. I was pleased that they cared and could support their opinions, but I was also glad because their strong opinions on the topic pushed them to really need to express themselves as well as they could. Who knew that finding topics kids cared about could be such a motivator?

Leave a Reply

