Two Great Songs

Every week, each of my classes learns a song. I don’t know about you, but at this point in the year I’m starting to have trouble finding good, appropriate, interesting, accessible songs for my students! I always appreciate  Sra Green’s recommendations, so today I’m taking a page out of her book and telling you about two songs I’m absolutely loving right now.

The first is “Lo siento, amor” by Tomas the Latin Boy.

 

It’s our song of the week in Spanish 1 this week, and it’s great for so many reasons!

  • It’s catchy! The first time I heard it, it was stuck in my head for days!
  • So many reps of “lo siento” – I wish I had discovered this song at the beginning of the year, but it’s great for practice and review now, too!
  • A few examples of the imperfect tense were a great way for me to (very briefly) introduce the idea that “aba” is past to my 1s.
  • So many present tense verbs! Lots of yo and tú forms, as well as a few third-person plurals.
  • The official lyric video is great for following along. The true official video pauses for “acting” in the middle, so I went with the lyric video for this week and promised the kids that if we have time one day we’ll watch the other.
  • We had a great discussion (in English) about why he calls himself “The Latin Boy” – why is it called Latin America?
  • He’s only 17 years old, and my freshmen girls think he’s so cute! This song officially replaced CD9’s “Me equivoqué” as my biggest 1D fangirl’s favorite song of the year.

The other song I’m loving right now is “La gozadera” by Gente de Zona and Marc Anthony

This one is Spanish 2’s song of the week, and is also excellent!

  • My students already love Marc Anthony from learning Vivir mi vida earlier this year, so they were instantly excited about this one.
  • Both the music and the video are so much fun! Everyone looks like they’re having a blast – it’s exactly what you need at the end of January! I love when kids come in on Monday and say “Is this our song this week? I like it!” and that’s exactly what happened with this one!
  • They mention all the Spanish-speaking countries in Latin America, plus Brazil. This also led to a good discussion of why it’s called Latin America, and why they would include Brazil in their list.
  • The lyrics are so simple! Most of it centers around the countries, so while we talked about what the song meant, I made sure to talk a little about each country they mention.
  • Third-person singular preterite is repeated throughout the chorus. A great way to tease that the “o” at the end of the word doesn’t always mean I before I actually teach any past tense to these kids.
  • So much culture! We used Google Earth to look up Machu Picchu and the Nazca Lines when they mention Peru, Christ the Redeemer for Brazil (which is taller, Christ the Redeemer or the Statue of Liberty?), and the song mentions arroz con habichuelas, zandunga, and Bilirrubina. I also projected a zoomed out Google map because my 2s don’t know where a lot of these countries are, so I try to take every opportunity I get to show them. Additionally, throughout the song they mention lots of cultural things in the background (Boricua comes to mind as being in there at one point). If you can catch them, they make a great starting point for discussion, but some of them are hard to hear!
  • The people painted as flags! One girl in one class who doesn’t like clowns says these people are scary, but overall, the kids think it’s pretty cool. One kid asked, “Why don’t they just use flags?” to which I responded – Marc Anthony already did that in Vivir mi vida, so this is more original. But I repeated an activity from Vivir mi vida – when you see a flag, tell me which country it represents.
  • What is the “gozadera”? I told the kids at the beginning of the period that gozadera is a big party, and warned them that at the end, they would have to tell me what the party is. Some of them were confused, but most of them figured out that it’s a celebration of Latino heritage and culture, not an actual party.

There you have it! If you were looking for some good music to use in class soon, there are two great options!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sragreen says:

    Great ideas! Thanks for sharing (and the shout out).

  2. spanishplans says:

    “Lo siento amor” is a nice song for students. I hadn’t heard of it before. It includes a lot of spinach one vocabulary and definitely a lot of reps of Lo siento. Might have to add this one to my March Music bracket for next year.

    1. Melanie says:

      Yes, I love the reps of lo siento! And the kids like it – my students voted it into our March Madness bracket, so we’ll get to listen to it a few more times when we vote.

Leave a Reply

